World of Warcraft finds redemption as the most played MMORPG game of 2022

Many players have been waiting for the launch of Dragonflight, the latest expansion pack from the World of Warcraft universe. Some quick facts about the new release:

  • Level cap: 70
  • New playable race: Dracthyr, which are Dragons
  • New mounts: Also dragons
  • New zones: Four new zones, one new starter zone
  • System overhauls: HUD rework, new talent system, professions updates
  • Group content: Eight new dungeons and a new raid
  • New race/class combinations

While the game’s new playable race has been implemented it is also its own class. Both factions have access to this new race known as Dracthyr. The development team decided that dragons are unique in this regard and special enough that they didn’t fit into any other way. All of the Dracthyr are known as Evokers and have physical attacks like flying with dragon breath attacks. They use their wings unleashing wind and magic based attack methods. This makes them a ranged DPS (Damage Per Second) class or they can choose to be a healer to support their team-mates. 

Other details about the Dracthyr include them starting at level 58, they are able to wear mail type armor (over their scales) and they have their very own starting zone area. The new release has also brought forth some cool flying abilities in the new lands. Many players say this really added something and from this point flying will forever be changed. It would be lame to go back to the old ways again. Perhaps an entire flying revamp will be implemented later down the road as well. For sure Dragonriding looks and feels way cooler. Even the mount has different appearances to choose from to make them both faster and able to fly further.

With the Dragon Isles expansion, they have always remained a mysterious part of the lore and ancient secrets await to be revealed with patches and updates coming. Additionally, aside from the new dragon race, there are half-giant elementals that have been added as a foe to the Dracthyr. These half-giants are known as Djaradin. Many Tuskarr inhabitants have been spotted around the isles as well. These are walrus-like creatures who also have cute children in some spots doing their thing. Blizzard the game company behind World of Warcraft have mentioned their being an ancient civilization of Centaurs there as well.

Upcoming changes will likely include crafting orders, further specializations, stats on items and quality as a determiner. Specializations will allow players to focus upon a particular area of specialty. This is comparable to Goblins and Gnomes and their engineering skills. 

The Dragonflight profession stats are:

  • Inspiration: You have a x% chance to be inspired, crafting this recipe with extra skill.
  • Resourcefulness: You have a x% chance to use fewer tradable reagents such as ore.
  • Multicraft: You have a x% chance to craft additional items. Only works on recipes for stackable items.
  • Crafting Speed: Crafting is x% faster.

Other interesting footnotes include a new Dragonflight profession bag slot, talents returning to their roots, the user interface getting a revamp and mages, priests and rogues who can now be any race that they want. More things include world quests, renown and Dragon Racing becoming a thing. Group loot is also back for raiding as well.


The history of this game dates back to November 23rd, 2004. Since then, the game has captivated fantasy fans with its whimsical approach and linear progression. It seems there is always some way to adventure with friends and random strangers. The top end raiding guilds encounter the biggest challenges with the most dreadful monsters to vanquish. 

While WoW is quite popular, it might not suit everyone’s taste. You will either like it or hate it and at times it can become frustrating to some players. With the lore behind World of Warcraft there have been numerous characters created by the development team. The game targets two separate factions of opposing forces. 

One known as the alliance and the other as the horde. Those who are hungry for battle will find dungeons, player vs. player battlegrounds and end game raiding available. More awaits those who like to quest alone and team occasionally as there are world boss fights to team up for, treasures to collect and many quests to complete.

Those who played the game from long ago will be pleased to learn that they can play all the content and maps up to level 60. This does include: 

  • The original game content
  • The Burning Crusade content and Outlands map
  • The Wrath of the Lich King content and Northrend map
  • The Cataclysm content and Maelstrom map
  • The Mists of Pandaria content and map
  • The Warlords of Draenor content and map
  • The Legion content and Broken Isles and Argus maps
  • The Battle for Azeroth content and the Zandalar and Kul Tiras maps
  • The Shadowlands content and map

However, If you want to play Dragonflight (the latest expansion) you will need to buy it.

With what is known there are currently around 123,513,972 million people who signed up to play the latest expansion. An estimated 1,173,383 people log in each and every day to do dailies and more. If the new version of the game isn’t for you, other versions exist including World of Warcraft Classic that has 27,574,936 million subscribers with 1,047,848 of them playing each day as well. This game is huge and has taken its inspiration from other games like the EverQuest and Dark Age of Camelot games. It seems there is no stopping this train of entertainment right now.

Blizzard Entertainment has recently made moves with Diablo4, be sure to read about that here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *